The Queen of Stars and Smoke

The title of this post is inspired by one of those Facebook games you do where, based on the first letter of your first name, you are/have a specific thing. This one was “What is your fantasy title?” The commenter was then to find their corresponding information with the options given. It was birth month, first letter of first name, and first letter of last name. The title was my result, and I liked it very much. So much, even, that why not write a snippet of what would be my fantasy book? Even though my storytelling skills have gotten rusty, I’m gonna have fun with it. Hope you enjoy.


Content warning: Description of death

Is there anything more beautiful than nighttime and the stars? The way the Milky Way glistens and dances? Not to Eleanor. To her, the night is superior, for that is when work needs to be done. She is a queen, after all.

Her kingdom is the night sky; her beautiful citizens are the stars. Every star represents someone’s life force. When a star dies, it’s her job to guide it into the Milky Way. It dissolves into an ethereal smoke and merges with the colors of the galaxy, allowing a peaceful transition of one existence into the next. People, therefore, do not truly die. Animals and insects of all types are never truly gone, either.

It is a tremendous task for the queen to take on each night. She sees the death of each star, and the body they were attached to. Some of these deaths are natural, sudden, accidents, or premeditated. One such death tonight is a murder. The images flash through her mind.

A man. A woman. A dog, pit bull.

The pit bull is murdered. Man beats it to death. Woman leaves.

Pit bull yelps, whimpers, struggles, until suddenly there is stillness.

Eleanor cannot stop a death no matter how hard she cries, screams, and begs for another star’s interference. A savior for the innocent. These matters are out of her control. All she can do is guide. She wishes to die some nights.

Of course, there are stars who refuse to be guided. Some wish to stay for their own reasons, usually harmless. To leave behind a life of true peace to stay with a loved one, unseen, is true sacrifice. The star is present, then, as an unseen form of its body, keeping close to the person or people of choice. When it’s time for that star to die, both will agree to be guided into the Milky Way, together forever.

The queen of stars and smoke lay her head to rest when dawn’s first light appears. Unbeknownst to her, an ethereal cat lays to rest beside her, purring and comforting the only way it knows how.


Hope you enjoyed that. I know it’s super short, but I came up with this on the fly. I don’t intend to do anything more with the idea, but perhaps I’ll change my mind later down the road. Let me know what you think.

Quick note: I am now an affiliate with Amazon. This means that I place ads on my blog for the site, and if someone clicks and buys from my link, I get a small commission. Don’t feel obligated, please. If you like what you see and wanna buy it, great. If you don’t, that’s fine too.

And now, a bit about my day. I got my dog some dental treats, and my goodness, what an improvement. Her breath smells almost like nothing. I think I’ll give them to her weekly and adjust if need be. I have also been going to bed very late the past few days, for no particular reason. I’m tired at a certain time and have the ability to fall asleep at said time, but I just…don’t. It’s part of the reason the post is late today. It’s past 11pm as I type.

I refused to acknowledge the real reason why, but it’s time I do, because that’s the first step in fixing my sleep schedule. I am addicted to playing games on my phone. No real surprise there; I’m certain many people are addicted to their phone for one reason or another. So I’m going to try going to bed earlier tonight. It wouldn’t be a huge deal if I could just sleep in, but I have to get up at a specific time to feed my pets. By then I’m too awake to try and go back to sleep. But I did make time for a nap today.

I was also busy cleaning this evening, and I actually enjoyed it, which is hilarious. I don’t usually enjoy chores. But my dad brought home a refurbished vacuum cleaner that his friend gave him. The thing works like a charm. It’s lightweight, too. Because, see, my problem with cleaning–specifically vacuuming–was that I had to lug a bulky, heavy vacuum from one end of the house to another. And it was loud and squeaky. I’d just get so frustrated. But this vacuum? Amazing. Loud, but amazing and not terribly difficult to clean. I’m so thankful for my dad’s friend’s generosity.

Also, never try to pick up your cat when she’s scared of the vacuum. You will get clawed. And then she’ll hide, and you’ll feel bad for scaring her even more. Learned my lesson today. I’ll just let her hide and let her know it’s safe to come out by bringing her a little bit of food. She instantly calms down and softens up when food is brought, so, I know she’ll be fine in the future.

Hope you enjoyed today’s post. A mix of storytelling and personal life talk. I legit had a good day today, despite my exhaustion. I pray for more of these days.